clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Flames Qualify Eight, Let Five Walk

The Flames made some roster decisions today

New York Rangers v Calgary Flames Photo by Derek Leung/Getty Images

The Calgary Flames and the rest of the NHL announced today which RFA players in their respective organizations they’d be qualifying and who they’d let walk. The Flames had thirteen pending RFA’s and here’s the breakdown.


  • LW Matthew Tkachuk
  • LW Sam Bennett
  • LW Andrew Mangiapane
  • LW Ryan Lomberg
  • C Alan Quine
  • RW Spencer Foo
  • D Rinat Valiev
  • G David Rittich

Not a ton of surprises from the qualified camp as the Flames brought back all of their NHLers. Alan Quine earned another contract with the club along with Ryan Lomberg, both of whom skated for the team this year. Rinat Valiev who was acquired in the Brett Kulak deal also sticks around another year. The following qualified players have arbitration rights: Alan Quine, Sam Bennett, David Rittich, Spencer Foo, Ryan Lomberg, and Rinat Valiev.

Not Qualified

  • LW Kerby Rychel
  • LW Brett Pollock
  • C Curtis Lazar
  • D Josh Healey
  • G Mason McDonald

Also not any real surprises here. The Curtis Lazar era/dream is officially over in Calgary and what a mess it was. Rychel was acquired for Hunter Shinkaruk and had 43 points in Stockton, so perhaps he returns on a cheaper deal next year. Very disappointing to see how Mason Mcdonald (and the whole 2014 draft class for that matter) worked out.