clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 NHL Awards Wrap: Calgary Flames Edition

A few members of the Calgary Flames were up for awards, but only one took home hardware.

2019 NHL Awards Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

2019 NHL Awards Wrap Up

The Calgary Flames had a few members of the organization that had a chance to take home some hardware at the 2019 NHL Awards and in the end Mark Giordano was the lone member of Flames to win something. Giordano won the Norris Trophy, awarded to the NHL’s best defenceman, in a landslide with 96% of the vote.

-Calgary’s new bench boss Bill Peters was up for the Jack Adams Award which is awarded to the NHL’s Coach Of The Year, but he finished in 4th place with only three first place votes. Barry Trotz of the NY Islanders took home the trophy with 58 first place votes.

-When it came to the Hart Trophy for the most valuable player in 2018-19 Nikita Kucherov took home that award in another landslide with 164 first place votes. Calgary’s Johnny Gaudreau finished a distant 4th place with two first place votes. Mark Giordano finished 9th in the voting.

-Ryan O’Reilly won the Selke Trophy for the NHL’s best defensive forward in a tight race with Mark Stone. Calgary’ Mikael Backlund finished in 8th place, Elias Lindholm in 10th place and Derek Ryan a distant 29th.

-Aleksander Barkov took home the Lady Byng Trophy which is awarded to the player who exhibits the most sportsmanship throughout the season. Sean Monahan was also up for the award, but finished in 3rd place with only three first place votes. Johnny Gaudreau also snuck into the top 10 in 9th place.

-Brad Treliving finished in 6th place in the GM Of The Year voting behind Boston’s Don Sweeney who took home that honor.

-And finally Wayne Simmonds won the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award for 2018-19 for his leadership qualities on and off the ice. Mark Giordano and Justin Williams were up for this award as well, but Mark Messier chose Simmonds for his charitable work. Jarome Iginla is the only Flames player to have won the award, which he received in 2008-09.

For a complete list of all the winners and a total breakdown of the voting click here for the NHL’s 2019 Awards Ceremony coverage.