clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Flames Welcome Team Alberta of the Canadian Women's Hockey League

The Flames organization added another team to the family today.

With little else to report in the world of the NHL, the Flames have announced a partnership with Team Alberta of the Canadian Women's Hockey League. The league was formed in 2007 after the National Women's Hockey League folded, and includes five teams: Team Alberta, the Boston Blades, Brampton Hockey Club, the Montreal Stars, and the Toronto Furies.

Depending on how closely you follow women's hockey, you may be familiar with a few of Team Alberta's players. Meaghan Mikkelson (sister of former Flames defenceman Brendan Mikkelson) won gold with Canada's Olympic team at the 2010 Vancouver games, Olivia Sutter (who is somehow related to the Sutter brothers) played for the Carleton Ravens of the CIS, and Bobby-Jo Slusar, who was a member of Canada's national team from 2006-08. Kerri Sanders holds the title of Team Alberta's leading scorer, with two goals and three points in three games, but Alberta currently sits last in the league with one win in just three games so far this season. Olivia Sutter scored the winning goal when Alberta beat the Brampton Hockey Club by a score of 3-2 on October 29th.

Team Alberta will wear Flames colours, but still needs a name and a logo, so if you've got any ideas be sure to submit them here! The team's next game is on the road against the Toronto Furies on November 17th, and they will return home to Calgary's WinSport arena on November 30th.